Ugly

I walk with my head down, averting my eyes, trying to be invisible.

For a moment I forget, I hold my head up, smiling perhaps. Straighten my back, my neck.

I belong.

A reflective surface catches me unexpectedly.

Shamed, embarrassed. I quickly look away, unpinning my hair from behind my ears to hide my hideous profile, hoping for mercy from scrutinising eyes.

I know, I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to suggest I could allow myself to be seen.

I belong only to serve as a reminder of the fortune of others.

Leave a Reply

